the colour of our lives

poetry • celebration • faith • nature • humanity • imperfections • glory

extropy

the new earth will appear, not too far

beyond imagining, and the universe will

resume its holy point of origin. science will

discover, but not care, that its laws were

correct, mostly, for the older cosmos – but

here, matter and energy spring forth from

golden streets while disorder and

chemistry’s potential cascade lose their

entropic pull, yielding helpless to the push

of heaven. a new biology, a blazing life of

fantastic and unimagined subatomics,

draws on its prime and ancient source, free

at last from the old Laws.

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “extropy

  1. Love the tags on this one…
    and also?
    I want more on this. this is quite an interesting train of thought…

    • Thanks Evvie. Sometimes I wonder what heaven might be like. Really like, I mean, not the harp and clouds crap, or even the metaphors of Revelation. And maybe I was teaching thermodynamics at the time, but it got me thinking about the physical laws of the universe and how they might be related to fallenness and there’s a nod to Lewis and… well, I doubt I’ll be able to help myself revisiting this idea.

  2. Thanks for coming by my blog today. I look forward to reading more of your poetry.

  3. You and I think so much in parallel, it is scary. There is so much good about this poem; virtually every line.
    I also wonder what heaven might really be like, but then it strikes me that I do not even seem capable of imagining what this universe is really like. Have you ever tried to get a grasp on what it means to live in a galaxy? Much less the rest? How can we hope to comprehend heaven? I am so thankful He made the universe so incomprehensible to push us into a bigger faith.
    Thanks again for sharing your poem.

  4. I have been reading and enjoying your recent poetry; I like the sense of mystery and questioning they convey. I, too, was intrigued by your tag, ‘a bit on the preachy side’. This doesn’t come across that way at all.

  5. Right. It is not preaching. It is prophecy in the grandest sense.

  6. By the way, I was really struck by “matter and energy spring forth from

    golden streets”. Very vivid and a new way of putting the ideas together for me.

Say what you think

